Wednesday 16th May 2018, The Centre for Additive Manufacturing, University of Nottingham

The Formulation Science and Technology group (FSTG) of the Royal Society of Chemistry is pleased to work with the University of Nottingham to organise the 2nd Future Forumulation meeting to bring together the researchers working as part of the EPSRC's Future Formulation funding award.  The University of Nottingham is kindly hosting the meeting at the Centre for  Additive Manufacturing.

The aim of the meeting is to provide a forum to showcase advances which will shape future formulation and provide insight into projects which have now been running for over a year and have now started tackling some of the difficult formulation challenges across a diverse range of applications.

The UK has in recent years recognised the massive contribution which formulation makes to its economic activity, resources have been made available both through the setting up of the National Formulation Centre in County Durham and specific funding calls from EPSRC and Innovate UK.  This meeting  brought together some of the people who are shaping future formulation having been awarded grants under the EPSRC's "Future Formulation of Complex Products" call - have a read of the summary of the meeting below and a look at the programme for links to the project proposal and to the presentations the speakers made at the meeting.


  • Professor Ricky Wildman - University of Nottingham
  • Dr Jin Sun & Dr John Royer - University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Mojtaba Ghadiri - University of Leeds
  • Dr Robin Curtis - The University of Manchester
  • Dr Darragh Murnane - The University of Hertfordshire
  • Professor Panagiota Angeli - University College London
  • Professor Colin Bain - Durham University

Organising committee

Professor Ricky Wildman, University of Nottingham
Professor Colin Bain, Durham University
Dr Simon Gibbon, AkzoNobel RD&I
Darren Ragheb, CPI
Dr Helen Ryder, The University of Manchester

formlogo       rsclogo