

# Minutes of ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held at 1.00 pm on 17<sup>th</sup> December 2008 in the Fish room at Burlington House

**Present**: David Higgins, Eric Patterson, Philippe Rogueda, Stephen Bysouth, Flor Siperstein, Claire Richards, Mathew Giles, Richard Greenwood, John Jones, Pat Mulqueen, Mario Moustras, Lynn Daintree, Hilda Coulsey, Darren Ragheb.

**Apologies**: Gordon Tiddy, Tervor Knott, Kevin Kigg, Clive Washington, Mona M. Knock, Anthony Fisher, Chris Waine, Saatchi Scharma.

The Minutes of the previous AGM (18 December 2007) were agreed as a true and accurate record of the meeting by Stephen Bysouth, seconded by Pat Mulqueen.

# 1) Chairman's Report

David Higgins congratulated the committee for yet an other "formidable" year, with "stirling efforts" from the committee, with 4 conferences organised in 2008.

David reported that committee attendance had been very good. He thanked Flor for her involvement with InForm, Claire for her work on the Newsletter, Stephen for the current web site, and Jemimah for her work as secretary.

David will be happy to send thank you letter to the managers of those committee members who require it to acknowledge their contributions to the FSTG.

### 2) Treasurer's report

Mathew Giles reported on the finances of the group.

The FSTG had another good financial year.

The group had a total income of £20,010.51 and expenditure of £14,409.01 which leaves a surplus of £5,601.50.

Four conferences were run over the last twelve months. The profits and loses are as follows:

Complex Molecules £2190.78 Secrets of formulation II £1051.00 HTFS II £6536.00

Young researcher's Symposium -£576.00

The group also paid out four bursaries to a total sum of £1500, which leaves £1000 in the bursary account.

The current total assets of the group are now approximately £46,000.



Accounts were approved and accepted, and will be sent to the RSC head office for filing by the end of the year.

## 3) Secretary's Business

Due to Jemimah Eve's maternity leave, Philippe Rogueda is acting secretary ad iterim, until Jemimah's employment situation and return are clarified.

The AGM agreed to send flowers to Jemimah on the birth of her 2<sup>nd</sup> child.

Philippe reported that the current membership of the FSTG is: 512 email addresses.

The contact list of the group stands at: 3220 email addresses.

The FSTG has now a logo that can be found in the header of these minutes. New FSTG letter template will be created with the new logo.

A new web site is being designed, and will be live in January 2009, at the old address: www.formulation.org.uk.

InForm (FP7) project was reported to be underway, and funds may be made available before Easter 09.

A proposal was made by Stephen Bysouth for the committee to fund the RSC memberships of those committee members who cannot reclaim them by other means. This proposal was seconded by Philippe Rogueda. The AGM voted on the matter with 5 in favour, 5 against, and 2 abstentions. The motion was not passed. Pat Mulqueen suggested to have it further discussed in ordinary committee meetings to try to find a solution, this was agreed by the AGM.

Mario Moustras mentioned that those members who are facing financial hardship could still seek help from the RSC benevolent fund.

#### 5) Election of officers and committee members

One new nomination: Lyn Daintree. The nomination proposed by David Higgins, seconded by Richard Greenwood, after discussion to clarify the link between Lyn and the Yorkshire formulation hub. No apparent conflict of interest was identified, and therefore the AGM voted unanimously in favour of Lyn's nomination to the committee.

The AGM voted in favour of following the recommendations of the RSC for committee rules. Ordinary members will now serve terms of 3 years, renewable. Officers of the committee will serve 4 years, renewable as well.



The following terms will apply: David Higgins, Chairman until Dec 2011. Jemimah Eve, Secretary until Dec 2011. Mathew Giles, Treasurer until Dec 2011.

Pat Mulqueen is re-elected for a 3 years term (proposed by Claire Richards, seconded by Flor Siperstein) until Dec 2011.

Eric Paterson is re-elected for a 3 years term (proposed by Pat Mulqueen, seconded by Stephen Bysouth) until Dec 2011.

Flor Siperstein, John Jones, Clive Washington and Philippe Rogueda are ordinary members until Dec 2010.

Claire Richards, Richard Greenwood, Stephen Bysouth are ordinary members until Dec 2009.

### **6) AOB**

As the activities of the group are expanding, Stephen Bysouth suggested to create a position of vice chair.

The idea was welcomed by the members present at the AGM, and the responsibility of drafting a proposal devolved to the committee.

The meeting closed at 2 p.m.

The date of the next AGM will be announced 3 months before the AGM. It is anticipated to be on 15th December 2009.